The First Christian Rap Song (Afrika Bambaataa, who?)

by LoveBaby Jones

I haven’t been keeping up on my blog too well which needs to change because I surely used to keep my secular blog up to date…smh. Anyway, I have so much to talk about these days, so I’m really excited to get back into the swing of things. For my first entry in days, I would like to talk about something that has been taking the Christian world and the internet by storm…the teachings of G. Craige Lewis. Now, a lot of people are critical about his messages about the “truth” behind hip-hop, because they feel that his evidence isn’t always reputable. Personally, I believe that Mr..Min..Pastor (?) Lewis is a victim of the technology age. A lot of…well…”older” people , who were adults when computers and the internet came into the picture, don’t really understand that you can’t just trust everything because it’s on the web. The truth is that you don’t know who’s behind the information you see on the internet unless you’ve met and dealt with them on a personal basis. GCL’s motives might be good, but if he doesn’t tighten up his facts, ignorance mite lead to the death of his ministry. The truth is that secular hip-hop can be very corrupt and people of God should especially have discretion about what they allow into their systems. but you can’t deny the power of the Christian rap movement. Now, some of it might be a little bit questionable, but you just have to be careful and make sure you understand what these people are saying before you start dancing along to the beat. This song, “Stalin Wasn’t Stallin”, that I read about on Eternal Life Music proves that the devil doesn’t own rap music, as GCL would say, but he most likely got his hands on it like he did everything else–by stealing it. This song proves just that.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
